M C & G Bridge Studio 23-July-2017
For the last week of July...
* Watch for 3 more NAP qualifying games (open to all players): Tuesday evening, July 25th (7:00pm); Wednesday morning July 26th (9:30am); & Friday afternoon July 28th (12:30pm) ($11 per player)
* come play Wednesday evening in the individual game, 7:00pm... NO PARTNER NECESSARY (you'll play with all kinds of different players), great way to meet new people and find possible future partner; snacks and refreshments ($10 per player).
* to Sandra MacDonald and Karen O'Driscoll for a 73.21% game Monday evening... well done!
* to the dynamo team of Ann & Cel Dicks, Linda Mills and Sharon Grant- scoring 70 out of a possible 80 in four rounds- good going!
Tip of The Week
Partnerships frequently get into trouble during an auction where 4NT is being bid, and one player assumes it's ace asking (blackwood) while the other assumes it's invitational (quantitative) to slam. Jerry Helms has a simple and effective suggestion to this quandary... "if the first real bid in the auction is no-trump, or if the last bid is no-trump, use 4NT as QUANTITATIVE, and 4C for ace-asking (gerber)... unless a suit has been unequivically agreed on by the partnership." So... if the auction goes:
1NT/2D/2H/4NT.... 4NT is invitational for a slam in hearts or no-trump. Opener's options are a) pass; b) 5H; c) 6NT, or d) 6H.
1NT/2D/3H/4NT... 4NT is ace asking, because the 1NT opening bidder confirmed heart support with the super acceptance jump.
Last Week's Quiz: You're on lead against an auction that goes: RHO opens 1S, LHO responds 2D, RHO rebids 2H, and LHO now jumps to 4S. Holding S-1092 H-Q1054 D-J109 C-K84, what is your best choice of opening lead, and why?
Answer: choose to lead a club, the unbid suit. Choose the '4', low from an honour, when the suit is 3 or more cards long. Why a club? Eliminate the other options. Hearts was bid by declarer as a second suit, so leading away from the queen may sacrifice a trick unnecessarily. Trump may be a good choice, but if dummy's diamond suit is strong, declarer will not need to worry about trumping losers in dummy, so why help him draw trumps? And that rules out diamonds as an attractive lead, because it may be a winning source of tricks for the declarer. The shorter answer to the question... when 3 suits have been bid, it's usually right to lead the unbid suit before your side's winners in that suit disappear elsewhere.
This week's quiz: in the following auctions, what is the meaning of the 4NT bid?
See you all at the bridge table... and wishing continued success to those competing in Toronto for the regional this week...